Deans and Directors of Creative Arts

About the DDCA

The DDCA is a representative body for the creative arts in Australian universities. We aim to advance the culture of scholarship in the creative arts higher education sector, offer strong leadership and advocacy for strategic development and advocate more broadly for the role of the creative arts in society.

Our priorities are to bring our widely dispersed community together through online conversation, events, conferences and publications; providing a forum for the discussion of leadership and best practice in the creative arts higher education sector. Our network includes the full spectrum of colleagues in the sector from graduate students, to early career researchers, established academics and senior managers.

The DDCA provides a new platform for connecting higher education colleagues, sharing collective experience and new ideas, and building collegial relationships across the sector. This conversation will contribute to a well informed community of creative arts academics. 

By building a strong community we will enhance the peer review protocols and standards in our fields of teaching and research. This will enable better capacity for measurement of excellence and validation of research through evidence based analytics across creative arts disciplines.

We act as a consultative and reliable advisory body in common matters relating to creative arts disciplines in Australia, identifying issues of relevance to the creative arts and responding, where appropriate.

We engage with international bodies representing the creative arts disciplines in higher education in the professions, and provide a platform for the development of international scholarly cooperation and collaboration.

Meet our Board

The Board of the Australian Council of the Deans and Directors of Creative Arts is elected by the membership to advance the aims of the organisation.

The DDCA Board consists of eight members: President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary and four ordinary members. Members are invited to nominate for election prior to the Annual General Meeting where voting takes place. Board members are elected for two years and are eligible for re-nomination provided they do not serve more than three consecutive terms. The Board has the right to co-opt members.

Craig Batty


Jane Davidson

Vice President

David Cross


Mia Lindgren


Vanessa Tomlinson


Rick Chew


Clive Barstow

Co-opted Member

Marie Sierra

Co-opted Member